"Three Friends of Winter"

  • "Three Friends of Winter"
    The Three Friends of Winter, also known as Suihan Sanyou, symbolize the pine, bamboo, and plum. The Chinese observed that the pine, bamboo and plum do not wither as the cold days deepen into the winter season unlike many other plants. Known by them as the Three Friends of Winter, they entered the conventions of East Asian culture.